Mission

The purpose of the Small Farm Program is to provide educational programming and research-based information to small-acreage farms and food developers in Utah.


About Us

Diane G. Alston - Entomologist and Professor

Area of expertise: Integrated pest management for horticultural crops and ornamentals. 
435-797-2516
diane.alston@usu.edu

James Barnhill - Agriculture Extension Agent

Area of expertise: Crops and pastures.
801-399-8208
james.barnhill@usu.edu

Roslynn G.H. Brain - Assistant Professor

Area of expertise: Sustainable Communities Extension Specialist
435-259-7432
roslynn.brain@usu.edu

Steven W. Burr, Ph.D. - Extension Specialist in Outdoor Recreation and Tourism

Areas of expertise: Outdoor recreation and natural resources-based tourism policy, planning, management, and marketing; community and rural tourism development related to nature, heritage, and agricultural tourism; sustainable tourism development; and the human dimensions of natural resources management.
435-797-7094
steve.burr@usu.edu

Dr. Dan Drost - Extension Vegetable Specialist

Area of expertise: Vegetable production and management.
435-797-2258
dan.drost@usu.edu

Kelsey Hall - Assistant Professor

Area of expertise: agricultural communication (marketing, messaging, crisis and risk communication, media relations, social media, graphic design, website design, technical writing, public relations)
435-797-3289
kelsey.hall@usu.edu

Marion Murray - IPM Project Leader

Area of expertise:  Fruit, vegetable, and landscape integrated pest management for insects and diseases.
435-797-0776
marion.murray@usu.edu

Shawn Olsen - USU Extension Agent

Area of expertise: pasture, fruit and vegetable production.
shawn.olsen@usu.edu

Matt Palmer - USU Extension Associate Professor in Sanpete County

Area of expertise: Livestock and grazing management.

matt.palmer@usu.edu

Ron Patterson - Extension Associate Professor

Area of expertise: Horticulture, small acreage, and 4-H.
435-636-3233
ron.patterson@usu.edu


CALENDAR

No upcoming events.
Utah State University Small Farms Risk Management Agency
Diversified Agriculture Consortium